Responsible Tourism Awards

  • World Responsible Tourism Awards

    The World Responsible Tourism Awards are presented each year at World Travel Market London, in front of an audience of 600 key influencers and decision makers. These awards are a centre piece of World Responsible Tourism Day – the biggest responsible tourism event globally.

    "Getting to know more about each other remains one of the most important hopes for the peaceful future of the planet. If we are really to understand each other better, then we need to be reminded to travel carefully and thoughtfully, listening to people along the way and respecting the world we are privileged to travel through. The Responsible Tourism Awards are one of the most important ways in which we can understand how to travel better." - Michael Palin

    View the winners

  • About Responsible Tourism Awards

    The World Responsible Tourism Awards were founded by Responsible Travel in 2004 to find and celebrate the very best examples of responsible tourism from around the world. Our purpose is to recognise, reward, inspire and to challenge others to do more, and to use the Awards to surprise and inspire tourists and the tourism industry with wonderful travel experiences that create better places to live in and to visit.

    The World Responsible Tourism Awards are different to other Awards in that any tourism business, big or small, anywhere in the world can submit an entry, rather than being pre-selected by a group of experts. A diverse range of entry submissions are made each year, to find and recognise the best examples and latest developments in responsible tourism.

    The official media partner of the Awards is the METRO newspaper with 3 million readers.

    Judging Panel

    The judging panel for the World Responsible Tourism Awards is chaired by Professor Harold Goodwin, ICRETH, Leeds Metropolitan University, and includes:

    Justin Francis – Managing Director and founder of

    Dr Rebecca Hawkins – Considerate Hoteliers Association, CESHI

    Debbie Hindle – Managing Director, Four BGB

    Fiona Jeffery – Founder and Chairman, Just a Drop

    Lisa Scott – Travel Editor, Metro

    John de Vial – Director, ABTA

    Matt Walpole – Head of Ecosystem Assessment, UNEP-WCMC

    Nikki White – Head of Destinations & Sustainability, ABTA

    Michael Pritchard - Director of Royal Photographic Society

    Simon Press - WTM Exhibition Director

  • Become a supporter

    Show your company's support for responsible tourism by becoming a supporter and representing the WRTD logo online.

    Show your support

    WTM Responsible Tourism events

    Find out more about the WTM responsible tourism event programme that extends across the WTM portfolio.

    See events

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.